PCB replaces injured Sohaib Maqsood with Shoaib Malik in Pakistan squad


Sohaib Maqsood (left) and Shoaib Malik. — AFP/File
Sohaib Maqsood (left) and Shoaib Malik. — AFP/File

LAHORE: The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) on Saturday introduced that Sohaib Maqsood has been dominated out of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021 attributable to a decrease again harm and has been changed by Shoaib Malik.

Maqsood had undergone MRI scans for the decrease again on Thursday after choosing up the harm through the October 6 match towards Northern and consequently missed the October 7 match towards Central Punjab.

According to the assertion, Chief selector Muhammad Wasim stated: “Sohaib is devastated to miss out on the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup as he had worked hard for this event and was in sparkling form.”

“We feel for him but injuries are part and parcel of the sport. I am sure after undergoing rehabilitation, he will fully recover to be available for future assignments,” he added.

“In his place and following discussions with the team management, we have decided to include Shoaib Malik in the side. I am sure Shoaib’s experience will be handy for the entire squad.”

Shoaib Malik captained Pakistan in the inaugural occasion in 2007 and was a member of the aspect that received the match in 2009. After lacking the West Indies occasion in 2010, he featured in 2012, 2014 and 2016 tournaments.

The Pakistan squad for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021 will depart for Dubai on October 15. They will play two warm-up matches towards the West Indies and South Africa on October 18 and 20, respectively earlier than taking up India in a Group-2 fixture on October 24 on the Dubai International Cricket Stadium.

Pakistan’s last squad:

Final T20 World Cup squad

Babar Azam (captain, Central Punjab)

Shadab Khan (vice-captain, Northern)

Asif Ali (Northern)

Fakhar Zaman (Khyber Pakhtunkhwa)

Haider Ali (Northern)

Haris Rauf (Northern)

Hasan Ali (Central Punjab)

Imad Wasim (Northern)

Mohammad Hafeez (Central Punjab)

Mohammad Nawaz (Northern)

Mohammad Rizwan (wicketkeeper, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa)

Mohammad Wasim Jnr (Khyber Pakhtunkhwa)

Sarfaraz Ahmed (wicketkeeper, Sindh)

Shaheen Shah Afridi (Khyber Pakhtunkhwa)

Shoaib Malik (Central Punjab)

Travelling reserves: Khushdil Shah (Southern Punjab), Shahnawaz Dahani (Sindh) and Usman Qadir (Central Punjab)

Player help personnel: Mansoor Rana (supervisor), Saqlain Mushtaq (interim head coach), Shahid Aslam (assistant head coach), Matthew Hayden (batting advisor), Vernon Philander (bowling advisor), Cliffe Deacon (physiotherapist), Drikus Saaiman (energy and conditioning coach), Abdul Majeed (fielding coach), Talha Ejaz (workforce analyst), Col (retd) Muhammad Imran (Security Manager), Ibrahim Badees (media and digital supervisor), Dr Najeeb Soomro (workforce physician) and Malang Ali (masseur)

Source link

Leave a Reply